Bihar TB Association


Bihar TB Association

Bihar was not far behind in joining the movement. The Bihar Tuberculosis Association was established as a voluntary organization and was affiliated to the Tuberculosis Association of India as far back as on 10th March 1941. Later on District TB Association were also formed in almost all the districts of the State, which were in turn taken over by Govt. of Bihar and now those are functioning as Dist. TB Centers under State Health Services. In 1976 the Constitution of the Association was revised and a model Constitution was adopted, which was registered under the Societies Registration Act of 1860 bearing Registration No. 81 of 1976-77.

Aim And Objectives

Under the new constitution the main aim(s) and object(s) for which the Association was established, reads as hereunder :

  1. To affiliate the Association with the Tuberculosis Association of India and promote the objects thereof.
  2. To undertake measures for the study, prevention, control and treatment of tuberculosis, the establishment management and maintenance of tuberculosis dispensaries.
    1. To establish throughout the State, District and other Associations having objects similar in whole or part to those of the Association, and
    2. To promote, subscribe to assist or almagamate with any Society or Association whether incorporated or registered or not, intended for promotion of schemes for the prevention of tuberculosis or for the improvement of public health.
  3. To arrange for the training of nurses, home visitors medical officers and others in the treatment and measures of prevention.
  4. To affiliate, control and render assistance to any institution having objects similar in whole or in part of the objects of the Association, within such part of India as may from time to time be determined.
    1. To take over the assets and/or the activities of any person or body for the advancement of the objects of the Association.
    2. To administer endowments having for all or any of their objects, the study, prevention, control, treatment and relief of tuberculosis.
    3. To receive, collect, manage and disburse funds raised or to be raised for all or any of its objects.
    4. To purchase, take on lease or in exchange, hire or otherwise acquire any movable or immovable property or any rights or privileges necessary for or conducive to the purpose of the Association.
  5. To conduct, alter or repair any building required for or used by the Association.
  6. To borrow money with or without security.
  7. To sell, improve, manage, develop, lease, mortgage, dispose or otherwise deal with all or any other property of the Association.
  8. To invest moneys not immediately required in such securities as may be determined upon.
  9. To establish and maintain provident fund pension funds of the employees of the Association.
  10. To do all such things as are incidental or conducive to the attainment of the above objects or any of them or which may be conveniently done alongwith or as subsidiary to the main objects.


According to the constitution of the Association the Governor of Bihar is the Patron while the Health Minister, Bihar and the Director-in-Chief, Health Services, Govt. of Bihar happen to be the President and the Vice President respectively. The Executive Committee of the Association consists of 14 members, which includes Chairman, Vice Chairman, General Secretary and the Treasurer.

Patron - The Governor of Bihar.
President - Minister of Health, Bihar, Patna.
Vice-President - Director in Chief, Health Service, Govt. of Bihar.

The following persons have been elected as office-bearers and members of the Executive Committee in the General Body Meeting held on March 6, 2005.

Office Bearers

1. Chairman - Sri Upendra Narain Vidyarthi
2. Vice-Chairman - Dr. Arun Kumar Thakur
3. General Secretary - Dr. Asif Raza
4. Treasurer - Sri Ramesh Kumar

Members- Executive Committee

1. Eng. S. M. Sahay
2. Dr.(Mrs.) Alka Pandey
3. Dr. Rajiva Ranjan
4. Dr. Pyare Lal
5. Dr. Sarbeshwar Kumar
6. Dr. Prem Kumar
7. Dr. Ashok Kumar
8. Dr. Om Prakash Kumar
9. Smt. Sarita Siwangi


1. Sri madan Pd. Mishra